PDA

View Full Version : Hello All

Andrea Weissenseel
11-07-2008, 2:34 PM
Hi all,

I'm totally new to laser engravers. I got my LaserPro Spirit 40W two weeks ago, and I'm still in the testing phase. I found so much valuable information here, so I wanted to say thank you :) and I hope that I can share some information someday too, so I can make up for it.

I have a question though, somebody asked me to engrave a Laptop Lid which is a hi glossy platic material. Now I'm afraid that it contains PVC is there a way to find out or is usually PVC contained in there ?

Thanx a lot for answers, Andrea

Dave Johnson29
11-07-2008, 2:50 PM
engrave a Laptop Lid which is a hi glossy platic material.

Hi Andrea,

Welcome to the group I am a newbie too. The laptop will almost certainly not be PVC, most likely ABS which is a bit smelly.

Do you have an exhaust system to the outside? If not it is a good idea to build one. Do some searches here there are several threads using woodworking dust extractor fans.

Here's one I started recently
http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showpost.php?p=953233&postcount=1

Andrea Weissenseel
11-07-2008, 3:42 PM
Thank you for your answer, Dave :)

Our exhaust & filtration system does not lead to the outside :o I probally try and take a good smell :)

Andrea

Jerry Hay
11-07-2008, 7:10 PM