PDA

View Full Version : Poor Cut and Loss Of Power

Tom Ravenscroft
11-07-2008, 12:47 AM
Hello

I am new to laser engraving and would like some help please.

I went to a trade show in Shanghai and then purchased a laser with 2 lasers. A 120W for cutting and 50w for engraving. I was told the 120W would not engave fine enough. The bed size is 1500 x 900mm

I have set up the machine and cut a few odds and ends, but i am having problems cutting 10mm acrylic. The top 2mm of the cut is rough, but the bottom 8mm is beautifully smooth. I have tried adjusting the focus up and down, but haven't had any luck, nor has speed helped. What is another possible cause for the problem.

Another thing i noticed is that when we first cut material, it would cut say 3mm acrylic at a speed of 19. Now the speed has to be 14 and all the other parameters are still the same. I have only had the machine for a short while (+- a week) and we have only had limited time to play with it, so i am at a loss as to what is causing the loss of power. The machine has a water chiller, so i don't think heat is a factor.

Any input would be much appreciated.

Regards

Tom from Perth

Margaret Turco
11-07-2008, 3:03 AM
Hi Tom! Does your machine have air assist?

David Fairfield
11-07-2008, 8:19 AM
If that were my machine, I'd be checking if the material were sitting flat and level. If the material is sitting at an angle, it leaves the focal plane of the laser and cuts become ragged. Could be the bed or the vector table is out of alignment or your material is warped.

Incorrectly seated material is the only thing I've experienced that could cause the cut quality to change as drastically as you describe. I'd also check for debris or dirt build up on the lens, since you say you've lost a lot of power in a short time.

Best advice I can give you is buy American. The stuff works and we need the help :rolleyes: :)

Dave

Tom Ravenscroft
11-07-2008, 10:43 AM