PDA

View Full Version : VS for old machine?

Kimball Dhillon
11-05-2008, 9:36 AM
Hi guys, newbie here. I've been turning for abouit 6 months and recently bought an old Yates American lathe w/ 1HP and Reeves drive. The low speed is 500rpm and I was wondering what anyone knew about putting a reostat on this to get lower speed for bowl roughing/turning. All of the threads I've seen recommend buying a newer lathe with VS, but I got a great deal on this monster and it's already in my shop and I would like to put it to good use.
ANy help or opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks, Kimball Dhillon

Bernie Weishapl
11-05-2008, 9:42 AM
No the speed controlers like for a router speed control will not work on a lathe motor. You might want to look for a variable frequency drive.

Bob Vallaster
11-05-2008, 11:18 AM
Unless your motor is integral to the machine, as on some Olivers, you could outfit it with a DC motor and control it with a DC drive (various configurations for converting 110vac to 90vdc or 220vac to 180vdc). Control it with a rheostat, just like a model train.
I've done the same with 3 lathes over time and been well satisfied.

BobV

Michael Arruda
11-05-2008, 11:42 AM
Your best, least expensive option is to get a used 3 phase motor and a VFD.

-Michael

David Walser
11-05-2008, 12:01 PM
As has been suggested, you could re-equip your lathe with a new motor and variable speed controller. Going new is NOT an inexpensive option (see the prices at the link, bellow)! Even the prices I've seen for used controllers and motors are anything but cheap.

http://www.woodturnerscatalog.com/store/Lathes___Band_Saws___Attachments___Variable_Speed_ Drive___vs_drive?Args=

Assuming you do this, will you still want to run everything through the Reeves drive? The variable speed drive will reduce the need to use changes in pulleys to get the lathe in the right gear, so you might want to replace the inherently unreliable Reeves drive with a stepped pulley like the Powermatic 3520b uses.