PDA

View Full Version : **Newbie** Looking for suggestions on next tool purchase

Jason Whitaker
11-05-2008, 9:15 AM
I am fairly new to this whole world of woodworking, but can see how/why everyone here seems to love it so much.

I have been slowly putting together a workshop (single car garage all to myself) and am at a point where I am ready to make another purchase but am not sure what I really want vs. really should have vs. actually need.

I have a table saw (CF - 10in, 1 1/2 hp, direct drive with a forrest WWII blade) that I have added the AccuSquare fence and a melamine side/outfeed table to. It is a decent saw but I know it is far from being "ideal" My question is: Should I look at upgrading this first? or are there other tools that you would see as being more useful to me?

I already have a 10in Compound Miter, Router Table, Drill Press w table, 14in Band Saw, Scroll Saw, and all of your basic portable power tools/sanders, saws, biscuit joiner, etc..

Some of the other pieces I though I may need were a Joiner? Planer? anything else? Or should I take the money and put it towards a better quality table saw (have been looking at a Delta that my local Lowes has on sale)

Just to give an example of some of the things I have been building: Bathroom Vanity, Shoe Rack, Plant Stand, Sofa Table and have a new project for a friend to build a set of night stands.

Any and all suggestions are greatly appreciated!!
Thank you

Dave Sweeney
11-05-2008, 9:20 AM
If you plan on making furniture you'll definitely at some point in time need a jointer, planer and a band saw.

Tim Thomas
11-05-2008, 9:31 AM