PDA

View Full Version : Jessem router table -- 1/8" sag in center??

Michael Spurgeon
11-02-2008, 5:27 PM
I FINALLY purchased a Jessem router table with Mast-R-Lift, Mast-R-Fence, and 32x24" Phenolic Mast-R-Top. The fence seems great as does the lift, but the allegedly flat phenolic top sags 1/8" next to the right and left edges of the middle of center cutout when measured without the lift and when measured lengthwise as well as crosswise.

Jessem brags about the flatness of the phenolic table top (will not sag nor warp) and while the rest of the package seems to be quality, this seems like too much sag in the center but I am no expert and before I ask Jessem or return the top to Woodcraft, I would appreciate any opinions as to the maximum amount of sag in the center that should be reasonably acceptable. (I tend to be super picky about quality and am considering that perhaps I am too picky in this case--dunno:confused:)

(I measured an old inch thick router table top made of MDF and covered top and bottom with laminate and it was still PERFECTLY flat after 14 years.)

Thoughts/opinions about 1/8" sag in the center??

Thanks

Mike

Paul Gatti
11-02-2008, 7:08 PM
An 1/8" sag is huge in a router table. I wouldn't be satisfied with anything greater than 1/32 in a router table. For the size of the table, I would think it should be dead flat.

Dewey Torres
11-02-2008, 7:57 PM
Something is not right... I have a Rousseau built by Jessem and have no such problems. Are you sure your installation is correct?

I hate to be negative but a 1/8 inch sag is almost like mounting your router to an 1/8 inch piece of plywood...

Again, something is terribly wrong!

Jim Becker
11-02-2008, 8:00 PM
Umm...I'd have it on the way back already...

keith micinski
11-02-2008, 10:42 PM