PDA

View Full Version : CNC Router Comparison....

bob pickard
10-31-2008, 9:36 AM
I actually found this forum looking for info on small (benchtop or desktop) CNC Routers for signs ,plaques etc. It's been a big help so far , but the choices and options and variance in prices are staggering . That combined with the fact that I don't know what I don't know about CNC routers just added to the confusion.

Here's some background on myself and some parameters I was looking for

Avionics Tech for 22 years ( 4 yrs Air Force , the rest Full time military tech for the CA Army Guard.)

Electronics Division Supervisor for 16 years ( Avioonics , Armament, Instrument, Electrical and ATE Shop - Automated Test Equipment)

Currently retired from that job, but came back in different status supervising contracted radio repairs and upgrades.

Concurrently with the above, I've been a woodworker for over forty years (both as a hobby and side jobs) (Actually longer than that - My mother has some items I made in my father's shop when I was about ten years old)

It was only natural that I combine the two skills and end up looking for a CNC Router

The parameters I set myself for the machine were the following :

Small footprint - I'm working out of a double car garage - While I haven't parked a vehicle in any garage for the last thirty years, it can still be cramped. ( So many tools, so little time)

Working Area - I was initially looking for something along the lines of 24x48 but it became clear pretty quickly that the price parameters (see below) would drive this parameter

Conveniance - I was looking for a plug and play solution - All I had to do was buy a computer, load the software and plug it in to the CNC Router.

Price - Under $5 K ( plus or minus)