PDA

View Full Version : What to do with Brazilian Teak?

Andy Pratt
10-31-2008, 12:30 AM
I just got a great deal on some Brazilian Teak (Cumaru) hardwood flooring. I've got 250+ square feet in 3/4"X3.5"X3-7' pieces, (T&G with grooves on one side). After looking up the properties of the wood, it seems like an ideal thing to use in an outdoor environment, so I'm considering all ideas, but want to use it for something that it really excels at.

Anyone who has worked with this have any thoughts or advice on what to do with it, or how to work it? I have no experience with exotics, so I"m all ears.

My first thought was to make a deck out of it for my house in upstate NY, but I'm not sure how it will handle extreme cold&ice buildup (inevitable there). It's rated for 25 years unfinished outdoors, so I'm sure it does well, I just don't know how much of that is bull or not.

What sort of penetrating finishes work on this wood? I'd like to do something, if only for looks, but I'm dead set against anything film-forming due to the severe weather/shoveling it will have to endure.

Thanks,
Andy

Simon Dupay
10-31-2008, 2:54 AM
Anyone who has worked with this have any thoughts or advice on what to do with it, or how to work it? I have no experience with exotics, so I"m all ears.

burn it! :rolleyes:nasty stuff to work with.

Andy Pratt
10-31-2008, 2:51 PM
Simon, what was hard to work with about it? Anything I should plan for specifically, like a lot of tear out or wear on tools?

Ben Davis
10-31-2008, 5:50 PM
Got a deck?

Chris Barnett
10-31-2008, 6:35 PM
If I had that teak....I would re-surface my boat deck....if I had a boat...:D.

Works well for outdoor furniture too...

Philip Glover
10-31-2008, 7:31 PM
It will be great for outdoor use - even extreme conditions.
A little hard on tools, but not out of the ordinary for hardwoods.

A good UV protective product for teak and ipe is Messmer's for hardwood.
I'm using Messmer's now for and ipe deck.

Cheers,
Phil

John Michaels