PDA

View Full Version : New to Woodworking

Chuck Durst
10-29-2008, 11:24 AM
Hi All,
I know that you have been asked this countless times but here i go. I'm new to the woodworking hobby/profession and an looking for some advice on how to get started. My wife baught me a table saw last christmas and I just got it put together last week.I've done some wood work in high school and worked in construction for yrs. What are the basics that i will need to start with. I'll probably do mostly box work at 1st to learn the basics. Thanks for all of everybodys help.

Chuck

Justin Leiwig
10-29-2008, 11:30 AM
What I did was hit the library and half price book stores. They have millions of books on starting woodworking. It was really invaluable help to me.

Scott Wigginton
10-29-2008, 11:34 AM
Can you elaborate? Are you referring to basic tools or basic skills?

A good starting project would be a cutting board. I high recommend watching some podcasts from the wood whisperer (http://thewoodwhisperer.com/), episode 7 is his cutting board.

For tools, if you're looking to dive in headfirst the MS cashback (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=94103)is a pretty good way to get started, Grizzly has some great deals going on. If you're going to be doing boxes a bandsaw is a great start, here (http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=95065&highlight=ultimate+bandsaw)is a discussion regarding the Grizzly Ultimate which can be had for $450 (you'll get $100 back in cashback).

Let us know more and I can be more specific :D

Burt Alcantara
10-29-2008, 11:38 AM
Chuck,
You're already doing the right thing by joining a forum (or 2 or 3...etc).

For box making I'd strongly suggesting getting the Doug Stowe Basic Box Making book and DVD. You will learn how to make table saw sleds and make basic joinery construction. As the scale is small you won't have to worry about waste. You could even use 2x4s.