PDA

View Full Version : Typical Cherry Bowl

Terry Achey
10-28-2008, 11:49 PM
Compared to the work I view in this forum, nothing fancy about this bowl. But, as a true novice, I was elated that I was able to turn a 9" x3" bowl that didn't end up with any "curing" cracks after the DNA bath. Only my sixth bowl and by now I think one lesson learned was making sure I turned far enough below the pith when roughing out. Or, as Bill Grumbine would say... Be sure to turn the pith out of it ;). I also tried wire burning for the first time. I liked it. Comments / suggestions always welcome.

Terry

Bernie Weishapl
10-28-2008, 11:52 PM
Beautiful bowl Terry. Great looking wood. Well done.

Ken Fitzgerald
10-29-2008, 12:04 AM
Terry.....beautiful bowl.....I really like your rim treatment and the burned lines are just the right amount of embellishment! Nicely done!

Steve Schlumpf
10-29-2008, 12:11 AM
Very nice work Terry! Love working with cherry! Smells great, holds great detail and takes a great finish! Your bowl has a nice classic form and the burn lines add just a touch of decoration! Nice work! Looking forward to seeing more!

Christopher Fletcher
10-29-2008, 12:55 AM
I do love cherry. Such a simple and yet beautiful wood. I wish I had a source for it down here in San Diego. Very nice, Terry!

David Walser
10-29-2008, 2:02 AM
Terry,

You're going to have to drop the "novice" label. That's not a novice level bowl! Very well done. A smooth, consistent, curve, combined with simple, yet elegant embellishment, yields a very nice design. Add in the beautiful cherry and great finish, and you've got a very nice bowl that's going to be handed down for generations. Great job!

Don Eddard
10-29-2008, 4:22 AM
Nice job. You have good reason to like it. That cherry will look nice and rich over time, too.

Jeff Nicol
10-29-2008, 6:30 AM
Terry, I also love cherry wood, as it darkens over time it even gets better! Love the finish and the simple beauty of the bowl.

Keep them coming!

Jeff