PDA

View Full Version : Inside bevel & honing

Doug Mason
10-27-2008, 12:42 AM
Though I have been sharpening tools for the last three plus years (plane blades, chisels, etc), I am new to carving tools (I'm using Pfeil).

Having meandered over to Woodcraft this weekend to pick up some Pfeil carving tools, I was fortunate enough to bump into another carver. He told me that he only stoops--never hones. This struck me as odd--as I thought that "sometime or other" one would have to hone to rejuvenate the edge.

1) Do people generally avoid putting an inside bevel on their gouges
2) Do you find that you just stroop without honing, or do you usually hone and stroop?

In the next couple of months as I experiment with carving, I'll answer my own questions by "doing it." Just wanted to get others opinions/observations.

Daniel Heine
10-27-2008, 10:21 AM
Doug,

I only take my tools to the grinding wheel when the edge has been damaged, or if the angle has been compromised. I find that regular stropping keeps a good, sharp edge, and eliminates the need to sharpen on a reh=gular basis. I know this is very different than turning, or even planes and chisels, but it works. A thin strip of leather glued to a stiff board will create your strop. The rub stropping compound onto the leather. I prefer the flexcut compound, even though I do not like their tools. Once this is done, following the profile of your tool, and maintaining the bevel, dragh the tools across the leather strop 4-6 times. Thjis will renew the edge, and it's ready to carve again. I also have a honing system I use. It consists of a hard paper wheel on one end of the grinder, and a soft, floppy wheel on the other. I apply green honing compoud to the hard wheel, and hone the gouge/chisel on that wheel. Then on the floppy wheel, floppy compund is applied, then the tool is repeated on the floppy wheel. No grinding, just a form of power honing, and it has worked great for me. Here is a link to the system: