PDA

View Full Version : Upper Cabinet Construction Question

Tim Lawler
10-26-2008, 6:17 PM
I am an amatuer woodworker and I am about to build some wall mounted cabinets to go over a desk in a small bedroom.

I have always used 3/4" plywood for the sides in the past. I recently purchased the following router bits from Sommerfeld Tools: a tongue and groove cabinet making set, and shaker stile, rail for doors.

Since the end panels will be visible I would like to make the cabinet sides using the shaker stile and rail cutters with 1/4" plywood panels to match or somewhat match the doors. I just was not sure whether these would be strong enough for the application. The cabinet will be roughly 6' long by 42" high, 12.5" deep. Used for books and display.

Thanks in advance for the advice,

Tim Lawler

Jamie Buxton
10-26-2008, 6:34 PM
The weight of the cabinet is trying to rack the end walls. If you use plywood for the panels, and you glue them into the frames, they'll have sufficient resistance to rack to hold up the cabinet. If you use solid lumber for the panels, they have to float, and they add no strength. In that case, you'd be better off to use an inner wall of plywood for strenth, and an outer wall for show.

Tim Lawler
10-26-2008, 7:50 PM
Jamie:

Thanks for replying!

I will glue my plywood panels, would I gain any strength by going to 1/2 plywood panels with a rabbet on the perimeter as opposed to 1/4" plywood?

Thanks again,

Tim Lawler

Leo Graywacz
10-26-2008, 8:51 PM
This is the way I would go about it. Have the 1/2" plywood flush with the backside to produce a flush surface on the backside. If you make the styles wide enough you can use a standard 1/4" pin for a shelf. If you have to drill into the 1/2" ply you will need to use 5mm pins. I am currently making some rift oak stickley doors that are near a shaker styled door and my panels will be 1/2" and flush to the backside. I make mine 13/16" thick so I have a 5/16" front recess.

Tim Lawler