PDA

View Full Version : 220 recepticle wiring ?'s

joe milana
10-26-2008, 3:20 PM
The wiring diagram on my 220v TS calls for two conductors and a "ground". I've hooked up the pigtail and plug, but when wiring the recepticle, does the "third", or "ground wire" as they call it, go to the ground bus or the neutral bus in my subpanel?

Thanks!

Jim O'Dell
10-26-2008, 4:12 PM
All of mine went to the ground bus. Neutrals for 110 volt go to the neutral bus. Same for any neutrals on 220 for house appliances. But grounds always go to ground. Note: I'm not an electrician, but a master electrician gave me his good shop keeping seal of approval on my wiring. :D Jim.

Rob Lineman
10-26-2008, 4:34 PM
220 v applications have no neutral, L1 and L2 originate at the panel from a 2 pole breaker. Ground is always to the ground bus not the neutral. 120 v applications originate at a 1 pole breaker (either L1 of L2 depending on breaker position in the panel) and a return path to the neutral bus, the ground is still connected to the ground buss.

joe milana
10-26-2008, 5:11 PM
Jim, that's how I have it connected. I used 12/2 w/ground between my receptacle and sub panel. The black and white for L1 & L2 and the bare ground wire to the ground bus.

However, on a 30A recepticle for an electric heater, I used 10/3 w/ground using black and red for L1 & L2 and the white for the ground and ran it to the neutral bus. I left the bare wire unused. Is this incorrect?

Rob Lineman
10-26-2008, 5:32 PM
Black and red are OK, white could be used as a ground since you've already got it connected at the receptacle (change it in the panel), but I would change that to the bare wire and leave the white disconnected. DO NOT CONNECT TO THE NEUTRAL BUS.

joe milana
10-26-2008, 6:26 PM
The bare wire in the 10/3 is only 12 gauge. The ground wire from the main panel to the sub is only #12. Is this OK?