PDA

View Full Version : Table saws

Craig Richmond
10-25-2008, 9:10 PM
I am in need of a good table saw. I am not a professional but would like a nice saw, something that will last me a number of years. I have found a used Jet 10" (I think 10") with ext. table at a local pawn shop. Its in good shape other than needing a little cleaning. I am not sure of the HP, I will have to go back and look again. I am thinking it will be up for sale for about $600.00. I have also thought about a sears "Professional Series" model or maybe just the big Hitachi saw Lowe's sells for about $400. something.

What would you guys suggest?

glenn bradley
10-25-2008, 9:59 PM
Check the model of the Jet. If it is a large cabinet saw $600 would be a steal if it is in workable shape. If it is a contractor saw it is in the range of many good new saws and I would walk away. Please let us know a little more info because it could be a great find or an overpriced used saw. We just don't know without a bit more detail ;-)

Joe Mioux
10-25-2008, 10:13 PM
you know, I was really really happy with my old GI contractor saw.

I sold it for around $600 earlier this year.

In some ways I wouldn't mind having it back in lieu of my current saw.

the top was flat, the fence was square, the blade was square.... for probably 90 pct of my woodworking needs that saw worked superbly.

joe

p.s. my current saw is a sawstop cabinet saw.

Craig Richmond
10-25-2008, 10:17 PM
This is what the saw looks like.

Tom Veatch
10-25-2008, 11:33 PM
This is what the saw looks like.

I own that saw in the left tilt version, JET JTAS-10XL. On the face of it, $600 is roughly 1/3 the price of a new 3HP version of that saw and is a very good price for, IMO, a very good cabinet saw. That assumes, of course, that it's complete and in good shape.