PDA

View Full Version : Delta 1460 1948 Model

Rob Mathis
10-23-2008, 8:07 PM
What is one of these worth, It looks complete and has some tools too.

Rob Mathis
10-23-2008, 8:23 PM
Picture included

He wants 350 - 375 for this.

Dick Strauss
10-23-2008, 8:46 PM
IMHO I'd suggest the $100-150 range would be more reasonable. The tools look to be carbon steel (they will need to be sharpened more often). Modern tools are HSS or better. The cast iron legs are a positive but the small swing and speed range are negatives (good for mostly spindles and small diameter bowls). My buddy has one that was in perfect condition he picked up for $100.

I'm no expert but just going on what I see locally. Your area may not have as many used lathes coming to market.

Good luck,
Dick

Rob Mathis
10-23-2008, 9:27 PM
I have seen about 2 a week hitting for sale. That is not many. Others that hit are a lot more.

Wilbur Pan
10-23-2008, 11:29 PM
There are two ways to look at pricing for used equipment.

The first is to think like a used equipment dealer, which is where the "I won't pay more than $xxx for that used lathe because I know a guy who only paid $xxx for that lathe."

The second is to look at it from the point of view of someone who is just looking to outfit his shop. In this case, think of what it would cost to get a new lathe with a 12" swing with 36" between centers. The Jet 1236 goes for $600-800. The Delta you're looking at is going to be a better built machine in terms of the castings used, and personally, I'd rather deal with step pulleys than the Reeves drive in the Jet 1236.

The last thing to consider is that should you ever decide to upgrade or dump your lathe, you'll probably get what you paid for it, in which case your cost for the lathe is pretty much nothing.

Rob Mathis
10-24-2008, 7:01 PM
Sell a tool?

Your kidding me right?

My kids are going to have to figure out what to do with them being I will not be able to take them to the other side with me. ( laugh )