PDA

View Full Version : Leather Desk Top ?

Tommy Emmons
10-22-2008, 6:03 PM
I would like to put 3 leather inserts on a desk top. Can anyone direct me to a source (online or published book) where I can learn the technique? I want to know how the insert is covered, what kind of leather is recommended, the joinery method, and many more questions. Thanks Tommy

Joe Jensen
10-22-2008, 11:25 PM
I only subscribe to Fine Woodworking and I am fairly certain that they did an article on doing exactly that. I don't have an online subscription so I can't search for it...joe

Tommy Emmons
10-23-2008, 3:16 AM
Sorry about that. I have a subscription to FWW and have not found the article. Do you have any information on approximately when or the subject matter of the article?

Jack Camillo
10-23-2008, 4:05 AM
I, too, would like to know how that is traditionally done. Good question.

Jim Podsedly
10-23-2008, 11:10 AM
Tommy,

Not sure if this will help or not but here is a plan for a desk with a leather top:

http://www.popularmechanics.com/home_journal/woodworking/1273336.html

jim

Tommy Emmons
10-23-2008, 12:44 PM
Thanks Jim, that helps alot. I was suprised to see that the leather was applied without folding it over the substrate. I would think that the raw edge might show. This is the first how to that I have seen. I appreciate your response.

Lucas Bittick
10-23-2008, 9:53 PM
Thanks Jim, that helps alot. I was suprised to see that the leather was applied without folding it over the substrate. I would think that the raw edge might show. This is the first how to that I have seen. I appreciate your response.