PDA

View Full Version : homemade T&G machine

Michael Conner
10-21-2008, 10:06 PM
I am in the initial phases of building a house. I have a stockpile of lumber that I milled myself and would like to tongue and groove several thousand board feet to use for flooring. I have a woodmaster planer and I looked into purchasing their 3-sided molding attachment that would let me do this. Although the money saved making my own flooring would pay for the attachment, I have been thinking of making my own.

I am thinking that two routers could be placed side by side, one upright and the other upside down as in a router table (as in the woodmaster design). A roller table on the input and output sides could help with feeding lumber and hold-down wheels could be placed on either side of the routers to hold the wood flat as it passes between the bits. I could even see using automatic feed.

I would appreciate any comments on this while I am in the planning stage. Also, if anyone has ever done anything like this (milling 2 edges at the same time), I'd appreciate hearing how you did it.

Thanks.

Mike

Peter Pedisich
10-21-2008, 10:13 PM
Michael,

Try the EZ Smart (Eurekazone) forum here on SMC, I'm sure they are up to the challenge.

-pete

Ken Lustgarten
10-21-2008, 10:47 PM
Why not go with something like this?

Freud Adjustable T & G Bit Set

Michael Conner
10-21-2008, 10:59 PM
I actually have the SRK. I suppose something could be done along those lines. I may have to pop down to the Eureka Zone to see if they have done anything like this. I still think some sort of in feed and out feed table will be need to machine this much wood. Some sort of power feed would be helpful as well.

Ken Lustgarten
10-21-2008, 11:57 PM