PDA

View Full Version : Math Question

Matt Ocel
10-21-2008, 6:28 PM
I had to build a angled platform today. Because i'm a carpenter, sometimes my feeble little brain cause me to take the practical approach (more time)instead of the mathamatical approach (less time).

Maybe someone out there can help.

The platform is 36" wide.
The angle is 26 degrees.
On the inside part of the angle, it is 12" from square to short point. Then 12" from short point to square.

Now, my practical approach is to snap this out on a sheet of ply To find the lengths of the outer side. This works great. But I need to broden my horizons.

What is the mathamatical equation for this?

Tom Veatch
10-21-2008, 6:43 PM
If I'm understanding you correctly, you're asking for the relationship between the hypotenuse (angled side) and the legs (horizontal and vertical sides) of a right triangle.

If that's correct, the relationship is: The square of the hypotenuse is equal to the sum of the squares of the two sides.

In this case, taking the 36" dimension to be the horizontal side and 12" to be the vertical side, the hypotenuse (outer side?) would be 37.947" (appx 37 15/16")

But, that assumption could be wrong because a right triangle with sides of 12" and 36" has an acute angle of ~18.5 degrees, not 26. So obviously I'm not reading your question correctly.

BTW, there's absolutely nothing wrong with the "practical" approach. Many times it's a lot quicker, and sufficiently accurate, to lay it out as you described. If you need precision down to the thousandth of an inch, the math approach might be more accurate, but that's rarely needed in day-to-day woodworking.

Jason Beam
10-21-2008, 6:45 PM
Not quite sure I follow what you're after ...

But ...