PDA

View Full Version : Dentil molding

Lucas Bittick
10-20-2008, 4:14 PM
As a newbie, I have my crazed ambitions and irrational curiosities to explore. Can anyone explain dentil molding? What kind of technique is involved in making it? I imagine that the stock is planed to ogee shape, with a protruding revel/rail running the length of the molding near the bottom third. This would then be carved with chisels to create the dentil?

The ready-to-buy dentil moldings frequently are a two-piece construction, with the dentil strip pin-nailed or glued into place. Is this a competitive technique?

Just curious... anyone have experience with this? I am planning a Georgian-inspired fireplace surround, and my mind is racing with questions.

Many thanks!

Tom Veatch
10-20-2008, 5:05 PM
Recently completed 6 bookcases with shop made dentil molding across the top. See below. The way I did it was to machine the molding to the proper section; face jointed and planed a 4/4 white oak board to the proper thickness to match the height of the molding and used an ogee bit in the router table to get the edge I wanted. Ripped the edged strip off the board to get the thickness I wanted. Back to the router table for a new molded edge, rip it off at the table saw, back to the router table, repeat until I had as many strips of molding as I needed.

Then put a stacked dado blade in the table saw set to the width of the groove, made a "step and repeat" jig fixed to the miter gauge and and dadoed each groove with a fixed spacing between grooves. Turned out well. At least the wife was pleased.

Oops - Just noticed this was in the Neanderthal Haven - please forgive the blasphemy

Lucas Bittick
10-20-2008, 10:28 PM
Not blasphemy at all-- I appreciate the reply! As many have commented, combining old and new methods can make for some great results. That is a very balanced dentil and some beautiful white oak, too.