PDA

View Full Version : Drum sanders: best unit for uniform material thickness?

Daniel Hillmer
10-20-2008, 9:32 AM
I’ve been drooling over the Performax line of drum sanders for several years now and finally ready to buy, particularly the performax 16/32 – I was told by a woodblock printmaker it was excellent for fine surface finish and especially for uniform thickness of material.

However I just noticed Grizzly has an 18 inch drum sander. Does anyone have experience comparing the two? Is there a difference in the preciseness of the resulting thickness uniformity? Thickness uniformity is a big concern for me because one of the main functions is gluing up boards for relief woodblock printmaking, and my press will not print well, unless my wood blocks are of uniform thickness.

ALso, is there a sander comparable to the above two?

Jeff Duncan
10-20-2008, 9:55 AM
I know there are some happy users here, but I did not have great results with the 16/32 and sold it as soon as I could afford a bigger drum sander. The problem is with the cantilever design, if you try to take a bit too much off you'll have flex. Also you have to spend a fair amount of time getting the head fine tuned to be able to sand uniformly, only to have to reset it upon changing grits.
If your primary concern is uniform thickness I'd be inclined to recommend a closed sander vs an open end. That's based on my experience with the machine, yours may certainly vary.
good luck,
JeffD

Cary Falk
10-20-2008, 10:02 AM
You have several choices: JEt/Proformax, Grizzly, Steel City, Delta. I have the Grizzly and have no experience with any other. The complaint about th Grizzly and