PDA

View Full Version : Bandsaw blade jumping front to back

Marcus Ward
10-19-2008, 11:33 AM
I just picked up a G0513X2 and am assembling it. In accordance with the collected wisdom I put the blade on without the guides touching to set it up and it's jumping front to back about 1/8 of an inch when running. Obviously it's welded crooked but not being a bandsaw expert I have no idea if this is normal. How on earth would you set the guide behind the blade if it's jumping like that? Anyone have any input on this?

It's a 1" timberwolf blade. It tensions fine according to flutter. The stock 1/2" blade that came with it has a tiny jump but probably not enough to worry about.

Jamie Buxton
10-19-2008, 11:45 AM
If the blade is new, you may have a bad weld. If the blade is used, it may be on the verge of breaking. When blades age, sometimes they work-harden, and cracks form. The cracks run front-to-back across the blade. When they haven't completely crossed the blade, the blade does that front-to-back hopping.

Here's a thread...http://www.sawmillcreek.org/showthread.php?t=40569&highlight=bandsaw+blade

Mike Cutler
10-19-2008, 1:00 PM
Marcus

That blade should run dead straight along the back. A 2-3 varipitch has what appears to be a hop from the front, but it's just the change in the gullets.
The thrust bearings need to be a few thou' behind the back of the blade. An 1/8" won't allow you to set the thrust bearings properly.
If the blade is new, I'd be looking to get a replacement.

Howard Acheson
10-19-2008, 1:10 PM
>> Obviously it's welded crooked but not being a bandsaw expert I have no idea if this is normal.

Contact the blade manufacturer. What you describe is not acceptable behavior. Blades should ride smoothly and not "jump" back and forth.

Marcus Ward
10-19-2008, 2:10 PM
Thanks for the information, guys. Maybe go with a Woodslicer this time?

Matt Ocel
10-19-2008, 2:37 PM
I have not been disappointed since using a Woodslicer.
Cuts like a hot knife thru butta.