PDA

View Full Version : Please recommend...

aurelio alarcon
05-19-2004, 10:29 PM
can anyone recommend an 8 inch carbide stacked dado set for under a hundred dollars if there is a good one out there.

John M. Cioffi
05-20-2004, 7:01 AM
Hi Aurelio,
The Freud SD206 or 208 is the one I have. It is about $99-$109, or something in that range. you can get it from almost anywhere.Amazon.com/rockler/ ect.
I've been using mine for 5 yrs. & it still cuts beautifully clean.Now, it comes in its own cary case.
You will not go wrong with this set.

Happy Wodworking.

John

aurelio alarcon
05-20-2004, 8:01 AM
Hi Aurelio,
The Freud SD206 or 208 is the one I have. It is about $99-$109, or something in that range. you can get it from almost anywhere.Amazon.com/rockler/ ect.
I've been using mine for 5 yrs. & it still cuts beautifully clean.Now, it comes in its own cary case.
You will not go wrong with this set.

Happy Wodworking.

John
Thank you John. This is the one that I will purchase then. Economical with good results cannot be beat. Again, thank you very much.

scott spencer
05-20-2004, 8:14 AM
My dado is also a Freud SD208. Good dado for the money....not the absolute best out there, but it does a good job. Not sure what the SD508 w/4 wing chippers costs, but I'm sure it's a little cleaner cutting.

Jim Becker
05-20-2004, 8:22 AM
Take a look at the Freud SD506...yea, it's 6", but most dados are not deeper than 3/4" anyway and it costs a bit less than the 8" equivalent. This version also has the four-tooth chippers previously mentioned for better cuts and shouldn't push your $100 budget too much over.

aurelio alarcon
05-20-2004, 2:30 PM