PDA

View Full Version : Dark oily residue on red alder.....why?

Don Gares
10-14-2008, 10:56 PM
Please look at the attachment and tell me why I am getting the dark oily residue in certain areas of the engraved alder plaque and what I can do to correct it. Using a 40 watt Pinnacle M-Series machine, speed = 60, power = 100, and 500 DPI. And yes, I am very new at this so your help would really be appreciated. If you see anything else in the attachment that looks wrong please tell me!

Don

Mike Null
10-14-2008, 11:15 PM
That is the residue from the engraving. it will happen when you engrave wood.

As a precaution you can mask the engraving then remove the mask when you're finished or better, be sure that the wood has a finish (lacquer, varnish, etc.) before you engrave. Then you can wipe it off with a damp rag.

I find diluted orange cleaner works very well.

To fix the current problem you can try gently wiping the area with mineral spirits.

Even so your engraving is a nice composition and your settings look to be accurate.

Nancy Laird
10-14-2008, 11:33 PM
Don, that's smoke from the engraving process. Just take some good liquid floor wax and see if it will come off--try the orange cleaner also, as well as 409. But....you should ALWAYS have a finish on wood before you engrave so this doesn't become permanent. It will come off of finished wood; it won't always come off of bare wood---at least not without sandpaper!

Don Necaise
10-14-2008, 11:57 PM
Don
Just curious on how you got the picture to look like that. Was that a picyure that was taken or some kind of drawing? Thanks

Don Gares
10-15-2008, 12:07 AM
Nancy,