PDA

View Full Version : Band Saw Blade Tension Timberwolf on Rikon 14"

Brian Tax
10-14-2008, 11:56 AM
Hello, I bought a Rikon 14" Deluxe band saw a few months ago and I have been experimenting with blades, cuts, etc. I have a 1/2" Timberwolf on right now, and I am trying the flutter method and I have no idea if I am doing it right. The instructions saw to stand at the head of the saw? What does that mean? I am assuming it is standing looking directly at the teeth as you would while making a cut. I wish they had a video on their website. By the way the tension gage is useless, adjusting the tracking totally messes up the tension needle.

Also since I am new to Band Saws, how good of a cut can I expect? I have tried resawing and the cuts are OK, but will still require plaining. I have read several books, but it is hard to tell.

Any tips on the flutter method, band saw tips, etc. are greatly appreciated, Brian

Bill White
10-14-2008, 12:29 PM
I use one (1/2" resaw). They are somewhat lower tension blades, so ya don't need to crank 'em down too tight.
I use a 1/4" blade for general use. Finer teeth, and easier to turn.
Bill

Chris Padilla
10-14-2008, 12:47 PM
Also since I am new to Band Saws, how good of a cut can I expect? I have tried resawing and the cuts are OK, but will still require plaining. I have read several books, but it is hard to tell.

Here are some test cuts using a 1" Timberwolf on a chunk of fir (an old beam from a house). You can see the cut lines that will need sanded and/or planed down a bit.

Brian Tax
10-14-2008, 1:29 PM
Thanks, that helps, I don't think mine are that good, but close. I think that I may be rocking the piece a bit while cutting, especially when I reposition my hands. Some areas are very good, but sometimes I have more saw marks. Thanks for the help.

glenn bradley
10-14-2008, 2:09 PM