PDA

View Full Version : Another New Woodworker

Gary Whitt
05-19-2004, 10:52 AM
I've been lurking the site for a while and finally decided to join. :p
I'm still fairly new to woodworking (less than 2 years) but I learn something new everyday.
I have a massive 12x12 shop :mad: that I currently use.
SWMBO has even told me I need more space!
Now, does she mean shop space or..........
I'll post pics as I create things.
So far, I don't think you all want to see pics of my wood stockpiles and sawdust!!! :)

John Miliunas
05-19-2004, 11:14 AM
Welcome to the Creek, Gary! Glad you decided to join in on the education, sharing and general fun. :D I'm glad you continue to pursue your WW interest(s) despite your shop size. Many of us started with something that size and some *still* work out of a smaller shop. Yes, it has its constraints, but wonderful work can still come out of it. In reality, it's only as small as your mind lets it be. Oh, and we really don't mind pics of wood stockpiles and sawdust! That's all part of it and, in the case of Chris P., he can spot those stashes of wood in a shop picture from a mile away, so you may as well just be "up front" about it! :rolleyes: Again, welcome. Stop in often, stay long! :cool:

Jason Tuinstra
05-19-2004, 11:16 AM
So far, I don't think you all want to see pics of my wood stockpiles and sawdust!!! :)

Gary, you'd be surprised what we like to see ;)

Seriously, welcome to SMC. This is a great place. Don't feel as though you're not as good as others or too embarrassed to show what you've made because it's only a ________ (fill in the blank). We all have to start somewhere and you need encouragement where ever you are in that continuum of learning. The guys here are great at giving good encouragement and helping out with good advice.

So glad to have you around.

Chris Padilla
05-19-2004, 11:32 AM