PDA

View Full Version : Question about a price proposal

Matt Campbell
10-10-2008, 6:54 PM
I e-mailed a price proposal to a possible customer today, and the proposal includes how many labor hours I've estimated with my hourly rate and also my profit. I really thought nothing about including that for the customer to see, but my wife thinks he doesn't need to know how much I'm making off of this.

So what's your opinion? Do customers need to know this information, or should I just give them the total price?

Matt Campbell
10-10-2008, 6:55 PM
Also, here's the proposal. I'd like to hear feedback about my pricing. Fair or too much? I'm new at this pricing thing so at times it feels high, but I'm trying to stand firm behind it. This is for built-in shelves on both sides of a fire place. I'll use paint-grade soft maple, 3/4" maple ply, and paint it a white color. Sorry, I hvae no pictures right now, but it's pretty basic actually. What do you think?

-------------------------------------------------------------------

Description Amount Total

Materials
Rough-milled lumber $115.20
Plywood $47.63
Finishing supplies $15.00
Shop supplies $15.00
Sub-total $192.83

Labor
Design (1 hours) $30.00
Milling (1.5 hours) $45.00
Assembly (2 hours) $60.00
Finishing (3 hours) $90.00
Administration (2 hours) $60.00
Other (2 hours) $60.00
Sub-total $345.00

Overhead
11.5 hours at $0.00 $0.00

Profit
30% of above costs $161.35

Terms: 50% deposit; 50% due upon completion Sub-total $699.18

Shipping $10.00
Total $709.18

glenn bradley
10-10-2008, 7:00 PM
You do not need to justify your price by sharing hours or profit. This just opens areas of discussion/negotiation with unscrupulous customers. You are worth what you ask. Be confident in that.

Steve Jenkins
10-10-2008, 7:21 PM
I agree with Glenn.
Just give them the total price with no breakdown. Two places I can see will bring up questions (disagreements) right off is administration (what's that) and other.
Are you installing them?