PDA

View Full Version : Critique Requested on First Pedestal / Hollow Form

Ken Vonk
10-09-2008, 8:18 PM
I wish I could get in as much turning as most of you appear to be able to!!! I get about one piece a month or two done in my "free" time...lol. This is my first attempt at a pedestal. The piece is maple burl and claro walnut. It's approximately 9" tall and 3 3/4" in diameter. Finished with 3 coats of wipe on poly so far. Please let me know what you think and any suggestions for improvement.

TIA,

Ken

Repentant Wood = Broken, Turned 'round and Saved from the Fire!

Curt Fuller
10-09-2008, 9:00 PM
I've never really known how to go about critiqueing something, but I'll tell you that is a beautiful turning. That's a pretty spectacular piece of burl and you've done a nice job of displaying it with the pedestal. It all seems to go together. The only thing that I can see that 'might' have made a difference is if the neck below the natural edge of the burl were a bit smaller in diameter. This is one of those kind of pieces that makes you say "Wow" when you first see it.

Scott Conners
10-09-2008, 9:07 PM
I love the upper form, the lip is exquisite. I find the chips on the rim of the pedestal grab my attention - I think I'd fill them, being that it's such a dark wood anyway. I love the overall form though!

Steve Schlumpf
10-09-2008, 9:23 PM
Ken - no matter what I say - you have a winner here! Beautiful turning! Love the wood, the concept of a HF on a pedestal and the finish. Very nice work - seriously - very nice.

Scott mentioned the chips/holes in the foot of the pedestal - I actually like them as it goes hand in hand with the natural edge. Just my opinion.