PDA

View Full Version : Time for a New Jigsaw

Burt Alcantara
10-08-2008, 3:30 PM
I bought my B&D jigsaw as an impulse because it was very chearp...er...inexpensive...cheap.

Hard to cut a straight or curved line. Vibrates like crazy. My not-go-to tool. Avoid it as much as possible.

So, what's an accurate, low vibrating, good dust collection port, dare I say...long lasting, jigsaw?

Thanks,
Burt

Chris Padilla
10-08-2008, 3:32 PM
Bosch.

Yes, I have the Festool barrel-grip jigsaw but I think the Bosch is probably a better value and likely just as good and perhaps even better.

BTW, I graduated from a Sears jigsaw to the Festool...wow, didn't know a jigsaw could cut so beautifully! :)

Lee Schierer
10-08-2008, 3:38 PM
I have a Bosch and it is great compared to the B&D that I had for the same reasons as posted by Burt. It has been a great addition to my tool cabinet. The progressor blades (T-234) give a cut quality that will rival a TS for smoothness.http://i16.ebayimg.com/04/i/001/0b/b4/497e_1.JPG

Mike Cutler
10-08-2008, 3:38 PM
I have a Milwaukee, nice jigsaw, but I like the Bosch barrel handle better for feel, from the few times I've used one.

Matthew Hills
10-08-2008, 3:51 PM
got a Bosch. Low blade deflection was the big thing.
Mine doesn't have any provision for dust collection, though.

Matt

Chris Kennedy
10-08-2008, 3:55 PM
Another vote for the Bosch. I have the regular/non-barrel 1587. It is one of my favorite power tools and one that I use a lot.

Cheers,

Chris

Chris Padilla
10-08-2008, 3:58 PM
The Festool, while pricey, does have dust collection and it works well...when I bother to hook it up. I dunno if Bosch jigsaw have built-in dust collection. Festool is reknowned for their dust-collection on ALL their power tools and that is one reason I'm a big fan of them.

Bob Slater
10-08-2008, 4:07 PM
My Bosch jigsaw was the first power tool I bought for woodworking about 15 years ago. It is an old friend and has never let me down. A+++

peter de tappan