PDA

View Full Version : Round Mallet Square Mallet???

Burt Alcantara
10-08-2008, 9:42 AM
I need a mallet for chisel work. Will make it myself. As I've never used one, what's the difference between the two? Most of the videos I've seen seem to favor the round.

What's your experience?

Thanks,
Burt

Dusty Fuller
10-08-2008, 9:46 AM
Simply because I have a lathe and can easily make more. Not opposed to flat/square/etc. Round ones are just easier for me to make.

Tommy Emmons
10-08-2008, 9:50 AM
If your chisels have wood on the end of the handle use a wooden mallet and use a hammer if the handle has a steel plate on the end of the handle lke the marple chisels do. I use a flat head mallet myself, but I have read that the round head mallet it the preferred choise. I am not an expert, just sharing what I have learned.

Tony Bilello
10-08-2008, 9:56 AM
I have never used a square one to make the comparison but hitting a chisel handle is not very challenging.
On the lathe, a mallet can be made in less than 5 minutes using old 4X4 scraps 10 to 12" long. I like pine even though it is kinda light in comparison. I can knock things together and dent my mallet and not my project.
Matter of fact I have several of them.

Burt Alcantara
10-08-2008, 9:58 AM
Chisels have a steel cap. The hammer doesn't feel right to me. I have a lathe so making a round one shouldn't be much of a problem. FWW has a good plan for a big squarish one.

Burt

Rod Sheridan
10-08-2008, 10:09 AM
I use a fairly heavy flat face mallet for mortising, and have a couple of home made round mallets for finer work and carving.

Regards, Rod.

Burt Alcantara
10-08-2008, 10:35 AM
Tony,
How is your mallet wearing? I'm a fan of using 2x4s for more things then I'd like to admit.

Burt

Kirk Poore
10-08-2008, 11:05 AM
I need a mallet for chisel work. Will make it myself. As I've never used one, what's the difference between the two? Most of the videos I've seen seem to favor the round.

What's your experience?

Thanks,