PDA

View Full Version : Preparing Photo for Engraving

Wesley Perreira
10-06-2008, 4:04 PM
I have been trying to prepare this photo as best as I can with X4 and Photograve. The results have been far from decent. I'm not sure if ya'll have been faced with similiar predicaments, but I need to prepare a 12x12 granite memorial and this has been the best photo the family has provided. I am very new to business and been reading everything I can about doing this, but I just can't seem to get anything very good. :confused: Maybe I scanned it too small? Can one of you experts please lend some assistance?

Gary Hair
10-06-2008, 4:21 PM
If the image you posted is the size you are working with then it is way too small. If not, and you scanned it at least 300dpi then it should work ok. The contrast is pretty high between the face and background, I would suggest cropping the face out of the background and then darkening it up a bit. I ran it through photograv as it is and it was pretty washed out looking.

I don't consider myself to be an expert at photograv, but with a little bit of work this image should come out fine.

Gary

victor belfour
10-06-2008, 4:44 PM
As stated make sure the image is as large as possible 200 or 300 dpi; whatever resolution your engraving system needs. Sometimes i get crap small images too. Sometimes they are too small. Try to get your clients to bring in the original or get them to provide a higher resolution image.

If you know to use photoshop you can use the dodge and burn tool to try and tone down the high contrast blown highlights. convert the image to greyscale, use the burn tool, set your range to highlights and set your exposure to 20-30% then try to click and add some darker tone back to the areas of the image that are totally white. Hope that helps.

Jerry Hay
10-06-2008, 5:32 PM