PDA

View Full Version : Wood that will make you drool!

James Williams 007
10-06-2008, 2:36 AM
I went by my local wood supplier (Peach State Lumber) this week to grab a little cherry and walnut and when I walked in the door my jaw hit the floor! In front of me was a slab about 16'x7' of the most beautiful and perfect bubinga I have ever seen! then as Turned in an intoxicated state I started noticing all of the other specimens they had just received. I don't know if your local supplier has this kind of selection or if this is just normal because I am new at this but to me this was unbelievable! the fact that I live a few miles down the road makes me feel like the luckiest woodworker in the world! I thought some of you would get a kick out of seeing some of the pics I took when I went back this Sat.

richard poitras
10-06-2008, 7:57 AM
James, you state "16'x7' of the most beautiful and perfect bubinga" Just wondering what the the price was?..:)

Bob Ross
10-06-2008, 7:59 AM
Nah...too much sap wood :D:D

Bill Huber
10-06-2008, 8:03 AM
All I can do is dream about having all that wood at my supplier.

That is some really beautiful wood, I would love to be able to make a table out of some of those slabs.

James Williams 007
10-06-2008, 11:37 AM
10,000$ and the guy who bought them already picked the other one up!!!!!!!!!!!!! He's making a table for some office in ATL!

James Williams 007
10-06-2008, 11:39 AM
One day she'll let me!

Maurice Ungaro
10-06-2008, 11:50 AM
James,
Peach State Lumber is my favorite wood source! The crew there is the nicest bunch of folks. I used to live on the south side, but worked in downtown Atlanta. One of my assigned counties was Cobb, soooooo....every now and then, I would HAVE to make a trip to Kennesaw. Needless to say, it would have been hard to explain all the lumber sticking out the back of my car, so I usually went in the afternoon, and then beat it back home to unload my goodies!

James Williams 007
10-06-2008, 12:01 PM