PDA

View Full Version : Replacement Unisaw Motor

Dennis Hellon
10-05-2008, 12:11 AM
I'm new to Sawmill Creek so hopefully I'm doing this correctly!

Just assembling my used Unisaw for the first time from a complete tear down, rebuild, restoration (1979 model so not to terribly old). Some parts were missing, such as the dust shield in front of the blade, some tapped holes were damaged and had to be helicoiled but all in all just very dirty.

When I went to start up the saw for the first time the overload assembly on my motor starter keeps tripping. Testing the motor one motor leg is pulling 100 amps while the other is only pulling 16 amps as the tag says it should. Checked the wiring it is correct and neither lead is jumping to ground. Could take the motor to work and have the leads Megger'ed but figure no point since pretty sure it's shot anyways. So now I'm looking for a new motor but where is a good source - good quality motor for a good price?

I can find a Leeson Unisaw motor on Ebay for $350 with shipping but I've never cared for Leeson motors, in industrial plants I've always found them to be CHEAP motors that don't last long and run hot. Any other sources?

Mike Henderson
10-05-2008, 12:46 AM
I believe the Unisaw has a special mounting so you can't use a standard motor. Why not get the existing motor re-wound? It might even be less expensive than a new motor.

Mike

Jamie Buxton
10-05-2008, 12:48 AM
Plaza Machinery offers a Baldor 3 hp single phase for the Unisaw for about $400 including shipping. http://www.plazamachinery.com/

Rollie Meyers
10-05-2008, 12:59 AM
I bought a 3 HP 1Ø Leeson for a little bit over $300.00 and a unisaw motor has a uncommon mounting means.

http://www.electricmotorsite.com/pc/sglwood_unisaw/120728

Bruce Page
10-05-2008, 10:30 AM