PDA

View Full Version : Shellac finishing problems

Kevin Stauffer
10-04-2008, 1:50 PM
Greetings, I'm new to both woodworking and sawmill creek, and I'm working on finishing my nightstands I've built. I have built them out of poplar, and used transfast black powder water base dye, let it dry, then stained it with a walnut stain. I like the color, and it's what I was looking for. I then sprayed them with zisser bulls eye shellac straight from the can. I have a few coats on the project, and now I'm trying to get a finish smooth coat. I've read that I should sand the shellac, to smooth it off. I don't think it's fish-eyes, but my several coats of shellac are built up, and maybe too thick? I tried a few different foam sanding blocks (320, 220) and also a fine sanding sponge(220). They keep filling up with shellac. I also tried 220 sandpaper on a foam block. This filled up as well. The project has been sitting in my shed for a month or longer since I've applied shellac. It's dry but when I had it in the sun, It softens up and my fingerprints can still be left behind.

1) Did I choose the wrong finish over top my water based dye and stain combo?

2) Did I spray the incorrect way? Should have I rubbed It?

3) Is there a good way to smooth it out and get a nice top coat?

4) Would It help to cut the shellac and in turn smooth the finish that is applied currently?

It's my first project and I like the way it turned out If I can only put on a smooth topcoat.

Kevin Stauffer

Scott Holmes
10-04-2008, 8:15 PM
Kevin,

Shellac is perfectly fine as a finish on a nightstand.

Your troubles are coming from using shellac as if it were varnish. The perfect shellac finish is the thinnest possible coat that is flawless.

Varnish and lacquer can be built up shellac should not be too thick. As for sanding it back that's one way albeit the most difficult. As you have learned shellac is very hard.