PDA

View Full Version : Heavy wall cabinet joinery

zayd alle
10-02-2008, 10:33 PM
Good evening, all.

I'm a novice woodworker attempting to build a couple of wall cabinets to augment a kitchen full of new manufactured cabinets I recently installed. I'm looking to build pull-out spice cabinets to be wall-mounted. The carcasses will be 3/4" maple ply and inner pull-out will likely be 1/2" poplar (I'm certainly open to suggestions there). The sides of the cabinets will be visible.

The question comes in joinery of the carcass pieces. The back (3/4" ply) will be dadoed into the sides 1/4" in from the rear. I had originally planned to rabbet/dado the top and bottom into the sides with screws and glue to secure. But given that the sides will be visible, that means no screws. Would dados (rabbet for the top) and glue be strong enough for a heavier-than-average wall cabinet? If not, which of the depicted methods would be best? Or maybe another method?

Really appreciate your guidance on this.

Zayd

Ray Schafer
10-02-2008, 11:10 PM
There have been many posts over the past year about how to build a wall cabinet. I just built four of them. After reading all of the posts on this topic, I decided to follow the method that Chris McDowell recommends. I also read the Danny Proulx book on cabinets. I followed most of his approach.

Here is what I did:
1. I used butt joints to join my sides to my top and bottom (all plywood). This seems to be plenty strong for this application. I used Ultimate screws and did not have to drill pilot holes.
2. You can use melamine for the carcass. In this case I would use confirmat screws -- you should buy the confirmat starter kit from McFeeleys. The drill bit that they sell works very well.
3. The back (1.2" ply) is put in a groove (dado). I left 1/2" in the back. Chris recommends this in case you need the extra space to scribe for the wall.