PDA

View Full Version : 110 pound Claro burl

Paul Atkins
09-27-2008, 1:29 AM
I thought that might catch a few of you---
( A lurker for awhile - first post.)
I've been turning for 25 years - mostly architectural - (stair parts, rosettes, porch posts, curved mouldings, etc.) but this has got me a bit nervous.
I've got 4 finials to make for a victorian home, but the wood supplied is wet on the inside and dry on the outside. These are about 7" x 12" and of course they want them yesterday. This was a large Claro Walnut burl with graft that was cut 4 years ago. At the "inch a year" formula the 20" burl is obviously not dry. I've roughed out the pieces into 8" cylinders and made the first as a test for design and drying. They are way off balance from inside moisture on one side and dry 'bark side' on the other. My 1st question is about equalizing the moisture. I've microwaved them till they steam and then put them in plastic bags for a few days - rinse and repeat. I'm not sure it's working. How about drilling a 2" hole up from the bottom for quicker drying ? I've boiled a few bowl blanks with no cracks but haven't tried alcohol. (Except after 5:00)
The stuff is beautiful, but is going to shrink, twist and move all over the place till it's at a reasonable moisture. Now what?
I enjoy this forum with all the knowledge, quips, photos and helpfulness. Thanks

charlie knighton
09-27-2008, 2:22 AM
i am interested in how this comes out, but you are way out of my league, please keep us posted and any photos you care to take, maybe one day i may do a shallow bowl in a burl, but different moisture levels is really something..... i had the impression that the grain in a burl swirls and it did not matter how green the burl was???? then again someone showed me a 10 lb burl and he said he was drying it and it had been cut 5 years ago..... i guess for a burl to get larger it has to be growing:confused: duh, double duh :rolleyes:

110 lbs :D

Leo Van Der Loo
09-27-2008, 3:13 AM
Hi Paul