PDA

View Full Version : started turning fresh mesquite! need sealing sugestions...

andrew zukewycz
09-26-2008, 12:19 AM
i recently started turning on a lathe i got in a great craigslist trade. i am having a great time, but after visiting my local wood working store i was shocked at how much wood costs... i guess putting a wax coating on a block of wood increases its value by 110%!!!

-to the question-

i got a great deal on fresh mesquite from a guy who sells firewood, he says that wet wood is worthless, and i got half a truck bed full for 25$!

im turning these cool little bowls and goblets, and other stuff, but i am concerned that when the wood dries it will either be cracked or warped really bad.

so does anyone have any special techniques or ideas so that the wood will dry pretty nicely... i am pretty new to this so for right now i am placing the bowls and other stuff into plastic bags with wood shavings and just keeping them in the spare room closet. is this bad?

i really want the stuff to be usable, so that its able to be eaten off of or drank out of.

thanks for any help anyone can give...
later
zuke

heres some pics of what is drying in the closet!
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l40/zuke83/woodturning/2008_0925bowlsbirthday0012.jpg
http://i92.photobucket.com/albums/l40/zuke83/woodturning/2008_0925bowlsbirthday0007.jpg
thanks again.

Judy Kingery
09-26-2008, 1:14 AM
Hey Zuke, then,

A man after my own heart! If you don't mind me asking, generally, where are you, or more specifically where did your Mesquite come from? I turn a LOT of it here. It's well, all free or same-same - for the cutting or clean up. Nice deal on $25 for a half pickup load! From your pictures, you have some very nice Mesquite. Not wormy nor rotted already during it's live stages. Looks to be solid and nicely grained.