PDA

View Full Version : A Couple Cedar Natural Edge Bowls

Jeff Paxton
09-22-2008, 11:16 PM
This is my first time to work with Cedar. I think I had read where it has a tendency to crack easily, so I avoided it. However, while it did try to crack on me a little, I love the grain variations and colors. Wish the pics portrayed it better. Thanks for looking and as always, helpful suggestions are appreciated.

Jeff

Ken Fitzgerald
09-22-2008, 11:18 PM
Jeff...What a distinctly beautiful piece of wood and you sure did do it justice! Very, very well done Sir!

Richard Madison
09-22-2008, 11:37 PM
Beautiful bowls Jeff! Your pictures are really pretty good, except the white balance may be a bit off. If you have an in-camera white balance preset, that would fix it. I tried to brighten one picture a little (w/ very basic software) without losing the color, just to see what it would be like.

Edit: Debatable if this is an improvement.

Ken Fitzgerald
09-22-2008, 11:42 PM
Jeff,

I played with your 1st photo....here's what I got:

You got it!

Barry Stratton
09-22-2008, 11:54 PM
That is a fine, fine cedar NE!!!

Those branches are definitely unique as well.:eek:

What are the dimensions and finish??

Steve Schlumpf
09-23-2008, 7:54 AM
Jeff - those are some really nice bowls - seriously, really nice! Great form, color and you have to love the branches! Being cedar and being that thin - those bowls have to be extremely light to pick up! Quite the attention getters!

Bernie Weishapl
09-23-2008, 8:31 AM
Really nice Cedar NE. I have turned vases and bowls with a little cracking. Really pretty wood.

Mark Cothren
09-23-2008, 12:02 PM
Those are some great Cedar bowls, Jeff - and great NEs, too. When you get ready for some more just let me know - I have a big plenty layin' around...

Richard Madison
09-23-2008, 12:20 PM
Ken,
I like yours a lot better than mine. Looks like you shifted the color balance? All I did was brighten a bit, which probably lost the correct color of the wood.