PDA

View Full Version : Impossible question about Hock Blades

Ron Kanter
09-21-2008, 2:14 PM
I know there is no absolute answer to this question but I'll ask anyway:D

How much better is a well tuned Stanley plane going to shave with a Hock replacement blade.

I have a number 3 and a 5 that work well on straight-grained hardwoods. When I was working some gnarly white oak I started to get a lot of tearout.

Would a Hock be a noticeable improvement. The blade would cost almost as much as the plane.:eek:

Fire away. I can take it.
Ron

Zachary Bulacan
09-21-2008, 2:24 PM
I am new to this but my understanding is on highly figured woods its tha blade angle that has alot to do with tearout you may need to hone a different angle on your blade since you cannot adjust the bed angle(?) hopefull a better qualified neander will come and help thats my 0.02 worth

Pedro Reyes
09-21-2008, 2:28 PM
Well we know the answer is not objective, or really measurable I should say. So here's my best shot.

I've found it to be worth it.

A wiser man and much better woodworker once told me aftermarket blades are not worth it, (he really said are not at all needed) but then again he is partial to clifton planes which come with very nice irons as it is. And I would agree they are not essential.

I think that if I could only afford one of two things, one being a Hock blade and the other a Hock (or Lie Nielsen's are superb) chip breaker, I would go with the chip breaker, but that is just me. To me getting a blade sharp is easier than fettling with a chip breaker which may not mate properly, and the aftermarket chip breaker seems to reduce chatter well.

/p

steve swantee
09-21-2008, 3:06 PM