PDA

View Full Version : Can I make my own stair treads?

James White
09-19-2008, 9:35 AM
I have enough 5/4 x 4 to make all of the stair treads that I need. Is it advisable to do this. Will they last. I need an 11 1/4" finished size. So I was thinking to rip the pieces to three inches and laminate them. Is there anything special considerations in constructing them? Special glues? Do I need to use biscuits?

The oak is from the trees felled from my building lot. Therefore there is allot of color and grain variation (i am a newbie sawyer). Should I attempt to match grain and color or accept that they will vary and go for a more random look. My floors are 3 1/4" oak. So perhaps they will match that look.

James

Jamie Buxton
09-19-2008, 10:49 AM
Yes, you can make your own treads. I've made them myself. I'd use titebond, like I do in most woodworking, but lots of folks prefer titebond II. I wouldn't bother with biscuits. I'd just butt-glue the lumber.

Umm...this wood is dry, isn't it? You mention that you harvested it, but you don't mention that you dryed it. The wood must be dry before you use it for treads.

Greg Cole
09-19-2008, 10:58 AM
The egde glue joint is plenty, biscuits are used by some for alignment helpers.
The look of the treads is subjective. Up to you to either grain match or match the existing floor. Were it me, I'd match the floor and call it done.
Definately make sure the stock is dry with a moisture meter.
Also dig around for info on installing them (there's a good bunch of it here)... rise n run, construction adhesive (PL is the good stuff) etc etc etc. Stair building is a craft of its own, even making and installing basic treads.

Greg

James White
09-19-2008, 11:21 AM