PDA

View Full Version : 2nd day working on the Lathe (pics)

Jim Ketron
05-11-2004, 5:09 PM
Well this is My 2nd day on the Jet Mini lathe Im Just getting started and I already Love the little thing. Learning how to use the chisels and trying to control them to make good cuts and keeping them sharp. I orderd the set from HF and its on backorder so I purchased a very chep set for $10.00 so I can play with it some.(I have No Patience)
Well I loved the piece that Bill Grumbine posted !
So I gave it a shot It does not come close to the craftsmanship of his but I tried My best.The rings are too small I will make them larger on the next one. but a good learning experience! Its made from a piece of cherry I found on a jobsite it was a 2 1/2" square x 6' long used by the trucking company to haul materials

What would be a good finish for this?

Thanks Bill Grumbine for the tips!
Jim
http://www.woodworkersweb.com/modules/gallery/albums/albuq78/IM000689.sized.jpg

Ken Fitzgerald
05-11-2004, 5:41 PM
Jim, I'd say you're a natural! Looks good to me.

Jim Becker
05-11-2004, 6:14 PM
Sheesh...two days on the lathe and he's already turning captive rings. :eek: Yup. A natural. Welcome to the addiction!! :D

Stefan Antwarg
05-11-2004, 8:09 PM
That's great for only 2 days. I have taken a spindle turning lesson, read a book, and have had a lathe for quite a while. I have yet to make ANYTHING other then pens spindle turning. I just can't do it! Some people just have it. Good job!

Stefan

John Shuk
05-11-2004, 8:23 PM
And the rings intertwine? I think this guy is a ringer{pardon the pun}. I like walnut oil from the super market on the stuff I'm doing. I put it on wait about five minutes or so and sort of buff it off. You can keep building it too if you want each day. Very nice job. BTW don't you just love how the cherry smells when you turn it?

Andy London
05-11-2004, 9:18 PM
Awsome job!!