PDA

View Full Version : Electrical Question

Steve Roxberg
03-12-2003, 8:55 AM
SWMBO has requested (that means I'm doing it) two new lights. These are the puck style lights that will fit inside two kitchen cabinets on each side of the sink. They will be mounted on the top and will point down as designed.

My question is this:

The lights come with normal lamp style cords. One of them will not be long enough to reach the power source. What is a good way to splice this cable to make it about four feet longer?

I was thinking about using some crimp connectors, and then wrapping that with electrical tape.:confused:

Todd Burch
03-12-2003, 9:29 AM
If low voltage, I would solder and use shrink tubing. If 110V, I would go into the fixture (take it apart) and replace the cord, unless you want an extension cord or an extra juction box.

You didn't mention if the cords would be behind walls or not.

But I'm no electrician either.

Todd.

Steve Roxberg
03-12-2003, 9:33 AM
They are 12O volt, but I could use a low voltage unit My only problem there is where to put the humming transformer.

My first thought was to rewire the unit, but alas the manufacturer has ensured that I can't get into to unit. So that's not an option.

The cords will be run along the cabinet back, then along the wall over the top of the window frame into the next cabinet.

Do you think solder and shrink connectors would work with 120V?

Jim Izat
03-12-2003, 9:55 AM
Will the cords be visible?

Jim Izat

Randy Miller
03-12-2003, 10:04 AM
Originally posted by Steve Roxberg
They are 12O volt, but I could use a low voltage unit My only problem there is where to put the humming transformer.

My first thought was to rewire the unit, but alas the manufacturer has ensured that I can't get into to unit. So that's not an option.

The cords will be run along the cabinet back, then along the wall over the top of the window frame into the next cabinet.

Do you think solder and shrink connectors would work with 120V?