PDA

View Full Version : Dado blade question

Laurie Brown
09-11-2008, 11:59 AM
I am considering getting a stacked dado blade set for my table saw. I've never used a dado set before, so I'm looking for reasonably priced recommendations. I've seen the Freud SD208 mentioned, is that a good dado set?

Is there any difference or advantage to a 4-wing chipper (like I've seen on NYW) over a 2-wing chipper?

What should I look for in a dado set? What should I avoid?

Bruce Page
09-11-2008, 12:11 PM
Laurie, the 208 is a well respected dado set. I was very happy with mine until I knocked them of the edge of my TS.
The 4 wing chipper will give twice the life and it will take less effort to push the work piece through the blades.

Prashun Patel
09-11-2008, 12:16 PM
I like my SD208. I just got it. In fact, I got the 6" version which is fine for the < 1" dados I've been cutting with it.

The shims and chippers work fine for me; nice clean dados. One pc of advice, use a backer on yr piece to minimize chipout on the trailing edge of the dado.

scott spencer
09-11-2008, 12:24 PM
The SD208 is a good set for the price. Sets with 4-wing chippers like the SD508 usually include outside cutters that also have twice as many teeth as the 2-wing sets, and will tend to have a cleaner cut as well as longer edge life, but that depends alot on the quality of the set. The DeWalt/Delta 7670 (http://www1.epinions.com/review/Dewalt_DW7670_8_Inch_Stacked_Dado/content_314538299012) is a 4-wing with an excellent cut for the price. I haven't tried the Oshlun set (http://www.holbren.com/manufacturers.php?manufacturerid=12&catid=673) but it's designed similarly to my $300 Systimatic Superfine set, and my Oshlun 40T blade was a heck of a good value.

Brian Clevenger
09-11-2008, 12:39 PM
I usually don't brag about my dado stack because it was bought at a bargain price and does not have the name recognition that Freud and Forrest have.