PDA

View Full Version : Red Oak Bowl

Tom Bucanan
09-07-2008, 10:54 PM
This is my first attempt at posting a picture so I hope that it works. This is approximately a 12" bowl turned from the crotch of a red oak tree and it is finished with antique oil and buffed.

Any tips and critiques are welcome (on the finish, form, and photography) I just set up my first photo tent and this is one of the first pictures I have taken

Steve Schlumpf
09-07-2008, 11:30 PM
Tom - nice work on all accounts! Good looking bowl! Nice figure, classic form and a warm finish. Photo is focused, good lighting, just enough shadow to give the bowl depth and the backdrop doesn't take attention away from your subject.

Looking forward to seeing more of your work real soon!

Jim Becker
09-08-2008, 8:44 AM
Very nice looking bowl. Good work.

Robert McGowen
09-08-2008, 9:13 AM
Very nice form Tom. I have always heard that red oak was hard to turn, but you did a great job with it.

Leo Van Der Loo
09-08-2008, 12:20 PM
Very nice Tom, I love Oak, those rays are so appealing.

john taliaferro
09-08-2008, 1:54 PM
the thing i like most is the small bark spot, it says this is what i use to be till i got turned into art. john t

Mike Vickery
09-08-2008, 2:00 PM
Very nice looking piece.

Tom Bucanan
09-08-2008, 5:39 PM
Thanks for all the kind words

Dane Allen
09-08-2008, 6:29 PM
The bowl looks fantastic but now I want to heat about this "photo tent", sounds like a great idea.:)

Curt Fuller
09-08-2008, 8:21 PM
That's just about as perfect of a curve as you can get. That's really a nice, clean looking bowl.

Your photo seems to have a bit of a red tint, at least on my monitor. I'm not a photographer so I can't offer any help, but I'm sure someone here can tell you what to tweek to get rid of it. Or you can do like I do and fix it with your photo editing software.

Bernie Weishapl
09-08-2008, 9:41 PM
Really nice looking form and finish. That is a beautiful bowl Tom.

Tom Bucanan
09-08-2008, 9:55 PM