PDA

View Full Version : newbie laser questions and photos on glass

Ernest Hernandez
09-05-2008, 3:28 PM
I am newbie to laser engraving. I have been sandblasting glass for the last two years. Now I would like to get into laser engraving. But before I buy an Epilog Helix I would like to know your experiences with engraving glass with a laser, especially engraving halftone photos onto glass. The local Epilog distributor allowed me to do some testing on their Epilog Helix laser. But when I used their laser on glass I noticed that the glass was not as smooth as if I were to sandblast the glass. The distributor said it is because the laser fractures the glass. The halftone photos I tried did not look good. I even tried laser tape and Thermarks LMC98 white, but had mixed results. Your comments or help on lasering photos onto glass would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Ernest:)

Scott Shepherd
09-05-2008, 3:36 PM
Your Epilog rep told you correct, it does create the effect by fracturing the glass. Personally, I haven't had stellar results in doing glass, and the sandblasted work I have always seen has always been superior to the results I have seen with the laser. Not to say you can't make something nice with the laser, but I haven't seen the amazing results I expected from lasering glass.

Just my experience, and that might be because I have no clue what I'm doing.

David Fairfield
09-05-2008, 3:41 PM
Hi Ernest

The rep is correct, there is a difference between sandblasting and lasering.

Lasering glass is great for many applications but it has its limitations. Big advantage is speed, precision and automation. Disadvantage is lack of depth control you have with sandblasting, and the lack of frosty smoothness that you already noticed.

Also you can't really get a nice feather edge with lasering, because the laser will start making halftone looking dots as it fades to grey. Personally that is not an effect that I like, but some artists may use it to advantage.