PDA

View Full Version : Getting the blade on the cut line with a Miter Saw

Greg Hampton
09-04-2008, 1:59 PM
I'm a miter saw rookie. Recently bought a Bosch 12" SCMS, dual bevel, with laser, yada yada.

Prior to this tool I've done all my cross cutting on my TS. I know the MS is going to be a great tool to have in the shop, especially for cross cutting and mitering longer boards, but I'm curious about accuracy.

Using my TS thus far, I've noticed it's very easy to run the board into the blade right on or to the side of a mark (whatever your'e trying to do). It's seemed very easy and accurate to line up and make the cut.

So far with the Miter Saw I find that's not the case. For instance, if I'm not using the slide and just making a chop cut, for starters I have to mark the board in the middle, where the blade will first touch, then I have to lower the blade to the wood without it being turned on, see if I'm aligned, move it around, etc.. etc.. etc.

Not to mention when I need to cut on the left side of the line when I have to look around the other side of the blade to get things lined up.

So, as I said. I'm a rookie with the Miter Saw.

Am I missing something regarding technique that may make my life a lot easier ?
I've yet to install the laser because I've read in hear that everyone seems to think it's a gimick. Yet, the technique I'm currently using, I would think the laser is just what I'm looking for so I don't have to fiddle / play around with it so much trying to get the blad on my line.

Feel free to school me on this. I'm all ears.

Thanks !

Steve Clardy
09-04-2008, 2:07 PM
I've always just dropped the blade down to my mark and aligned then cut.

I also have a 4' kreg back stop that has a folddown stop I can set as say 30" and make repeat cuts.

Edit. I do not use or have the lasers on my saws

James White
09-04-2008, 2:16 PM
Hi Greg,