PDA

View Full Version : Craftsman/ IR Air compressors

Tom Godley
09-04-2008, 9:07 AM
I have been thinking of getting a new air compressor for the whenever finished shop. I have been using a 20 gal oiled Sears unit for 20+ years that has served me well for all the things I have ever needed from it.

The 60 Gal Vertical Ingersoll-Rand w/5-hp 220v motor looks to be the unit that many on the forum point to as being able to do all that any advanced hobbyist would run into. It also looks to be a complete unit with the exception of adding the auto purge valve.

I just received a flyer from Sears for the "Craftsman Club" sale - Listed is a 80 gal Craftsman unit #16781 that looks quite nice for $788.00. From the picture the compressor looks like it could be the same as the IR with a little disguise going on. They also have a 60-gal IR for $1098 -- that is a good price for that unit -- if it is the same as a normal one and not a special unit built for Sears.

Anybody have any idea who manufactures the units for Sears? Or actual information on the Sears 80 gal unit?

To be honest I need to figure out the difference between two stage and twin cylinders - I just noticed this in the flyer!

Thanks for any help!

Jim Becker
09-04-2008, 9:57 AM