PDA

View Full Version : What to look for on a used jointer?

Scott Wigginton
09-03-2008, 12:56 PM
Hello everyone, been looking to add a jointer to my shop but have a limited to non-existant budget to work with. Most of the used jointers that in my area and price range ($100-$150) are beaters and typically bench top style or 1950s models (and i am no mechanic).

Yesterday I saw this jointer (http://norfolk.craigslist.org/tls/823093274.html) and for an enclosed base it looks like a good deal. The fellow says it is an Enco but knows almost nothing else (he inherited it and it has just sat in his shop since '05).

My question is what should I look for to ensure its not a lemon, and anyone have experience with a used Enco before? And does this seem like a good deal assuming nothing else is out of whack?

Thanks,

Scott

Johnny Kleso
09-03-2008, 1:43 PM
Check that the beds are flat and true to each other and the fence is square..

Take a good level or straight edge and a square to check beds and fence...

Make sure the fence is square along its whole lenght after setting it square to the table..

Make the two tables ture to each other, check to make sure they are flat to each other and not warped or dropping..

You can use a piece of soda can (.003) as a feeler gauge under the level and if it just fits that is what I would call OK but you would not want too much more..

The fence can be shimmed to be square but if its off you can use it as a bargaining chip..

Also that the motor runs well and cutter turns easy of coarse..

Lee Schierer
09-03-2008, 3:06 PM
The only other thing I can add is look at the knife holders and see if the srews are badly rusted or rounded off so that you won't be able to change or adjust th cutters. Don't be too concerned if the cutters aren't sharp as you can get tehm sharpened and even replaced fairly easily. Replacement knife cost may be a bargaining chip also on the selling price.

James G. Jones
09-03-2008, 4:15 PM