PDA

View Full Version : Which portable table saw should I get for about $500?

Perry Lee
08-29-2008, 12:09 PM
I've decided to take the plunge and upgrade from my old el-cheepo table saw. Now my question is which one should I get on my budget of about $500? I am a hobbyist currently working on some kitchen cabinets.

I have mainly been looking at the Bosch 4100-09 (http://www.cpotools.com/saws/table_saws/4100-09.html) and the Ridged TS2410LS (http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/TS2410LS-Table-Saw/EN/index.htm), but I am open to other suggestions as well.

I have looked at the Bosch and Ridged floor units at local stores. Here is what I have gleaned from the 'net and my own observations.

Bosch 4100-09 (http://www.cpotools.com/saws/table_saws/4100-09.html)

Retails for $600, but CPO Tools has a $50 rebate right now or I can probably wrangle a Lowe's or Sears 10% discount.
Can be purchased lots of places.
Apparently there are significant upgrades from the previous 4000-09 model, including a safer guard system, T miter slots, better rip fence, and better dust collection.
Lighter than the Ridged. The table is aluminum about 1/10" thick (I measured it in the store).
From a stored position, I can setup the saw in a single motion.
Several accessories can be purchased including left side and rear outfeed extensions.
Only has a 1 year warranty, but there are several places nearby to service it.
The unit I saw in the store did not have a smooth table top, which makes me wonder how well my panel jig will slide.

Ridged TS2410LS (http://www.ridgid.com/Tools/TS2410LS-Table-Saw/EN/index.htm)

Retails for $450 at Home Depot, which is the only place that carries it.
Basically the same as the previous TS2400LS model.
Heavy. The table is aluminum about 1/5" thick.
Takes some work to setup from its stored position. Lift and lock one side, then go around and lift and lock the other side.