PDA

View Full Version : how long should a tool handle be?

curtis rosche
08-27-2008, 6:12 PM
i will hopefully be soon making my own roughing tool, one of the ones with the carbide insert, that some use for stone. the question is, how long should the shaft be, and how long should the handle be? i could use it for doing so deep stuff, like if i ever try hollow forms, or for doing a deep box. but i would also use it for do heavy removal for bowls. having it to long would be an issue for bowls, and to short would be worthless. i have seen the tools were the shaft can be extended and retracted into the handle, but i dont want to buy a whole handle, making one sounds like fun. do they make a simple kit for that, or is it easier to just make a fixed handle.

Wilbur Pan
08-27-2008, 7:34 PM
I'm no expert, but based on my handle making experience, no matter how long you make it, the day will come that you'll want a longer one. ;)

John Shuk
08-27-2008, 8:38 PM
A tool handle should be neither too long nor too short for the task at hand.:p

Matt Hutchinson
08-28-2008, 7:58 AM
I haven't made my own tools yet, but my initial thought is that the cost might effect your decision. If you can get the steel for a low cost, then I would definitely just make a fixed handle. Then if you needed a longer tool later you could just make a longer version.

I don't know the processes behind making an adjustable handle, but I would think the tolerances would have to be rather tight in order to hold the shaft safely. There are allen key collars designed to fit into handle systems, and you might be able to rig this as part of an adjustable handle, but I am still not sure how safe it would be. It's an interesting idea though.

As far as handle length, if you won't need to approach the work piece at a high angle, then I would say longer is better. If you plan on using the tool at high angles, then you might want a medium to short handle if you would be working over the ways.

Hutch

Jim Becker