PDA

View Full Version : New Premium Handplanes From Stanley Works

Randy Klein
08-25-2008, 7:52 PM
For those who don't read Chris Schwarz's blog. Here's a link (http://www.woodworking-magazine.com/blog/PermaLink,guid,6039ab77-8d6d-4a90-b5d4-600bf144424a.aspx) about new Stanley planes.

James Schulist
08-25-2008, 8:07 PM
"the frog and base are cast as one piece. This reduces the opportunity for blade chatter to occur."

I am new to planes, are there, indeed, not any other designs like this? It, somehow, just sounds cheap to me...

-James Schulist

David Bodkin
08-25-2008, 8:35 PM
Interesting. I'll be curious to see them in stores. I think the one piece base and frog could be nice if they do it right. They have the opportunity to greatly increase the contact area between the blade and the frog which should lead to less chatter. On the flip side any errors in the casting will be there for the duration.

Jim Nardi
08-25-2008, 9:26 PM
Looks very bright for the future of handtool user's out there. You know there's money in it when a big company is coming to play. Very interesting that there seems to be some more new idea's in how to build a good plane out there. Who know's maybe LN will copy these designs also.

Peter Quadarella
08-25-2008, 10:19 PM
I'm happy about this. I was almost set on the LV medium shoulder plane, but when I tried it out at the IWF show it didn't fit my hand very well at all. The Stanley shoulder plane might fit me better.

Johnny Kleso
08-25-2008, 10:21 PM
About time they wake up......

Tristan Raymond
08-25-2008, 10:26 PM
Hey, more competition is always welcome! I wouldn't guess that they'd be quite up to the quality of LV and LN right away, but who knows what they might come up with along the way.

Joel Goodman
08-25-2008, 10:52 PM