PDA

View Full Version : RE: Varnish Problems

danny efferson
08-25-2008, 5:29 PM
Hello Everyone,

In an effort to find a fix for my problem; I was browsing the web and happened to come across this forum. Everyone seems very knowledgeable.

Here's my problem I am building a house where I have alder cabinets. I stained them with Sherwin williams bright cherry then came back with SW sand and seal. SW recommended that I come back with Fast dry varnish so that is what I am trying to do, but it looks horrible. Where I live the humidity is high. This varnish is drying so fast that if I make a long stroke and try to brush out any sags it has gotten tacky and ripples. I am using a foam brush it even leaves marks.

I am going to sand this out and would like to know what I can use on top of this that will be a little easier to work with. I am not a pro painter just a humble diy. I have not applied the varnish to all of the cabinets so if I change will I have an uneven finish. What would you guys recommend? So that I could get a finish I am proud of?

Some of my thoughts are as follows: 1. I could continue to varnish the cabinets and have to sand them all and then cut the varnish with mineral spirits and apply the remaining coats with a rag. (but would it dry just as fast?) 2. I could sand what I have and switch to Cabot regular varnish (if possible and what would be the best method of applying). 3. I could lightly sand what I have and switch to Polyurethane (would it be possible to switch to a waterbased poly?)

It has been around 10 years since I finished cabinets and at that time I used BM waterbased poly.

Any advice or tips, recommendation would be greatly appreciated.

danny :confused:

Anthony Whitesell
08-26-2008, 8:12 AM
What is the temperature of the area where you are doing the finish work?

IIRC, humidity will actually slow doing the curing, not speed it up. I could be wrong on that.